The Endocannabinoid System: What Nurses Need to Know, An Introduction

Since so much of my time has been spent reading and posting information, in our closed Facebook group, about medical cannabis I thought I would reblog a well written article. Meant for the education of nurses, I think it would also do the public in general a great service if they were to have access to the information.

Though I still can’t use this plant in any form, I continue to talk to others about its benefits. Little by little we are erasing decades of lies.

Hope you find this as interesting as I do.

NurseManifest

Medical cannabis is now legal in 23 states and Washington DC, along with recreational cannabis also being legal in several states. Many patients and families are now relocating to Colorado and Washington State as “marijuana refugees” (http://www.nbcnews.com/business/consumer/marijuana-refugees-looking-new-homes-pot-legal-states-n22781), knowing they can freely and safely access cannabis as medicine in these recreational cannabis states. Nurses may still wonder, how is cannabis “medicine”?

images-1

As nurses we have a lot to learn about cannabis, including how it works in the mind-body-spirit system, and how we can best advocate for and support patients who could or do benefit from this medicine. Last spring, I witnessed a brief presentation being given to nurses around medical cannabis use, and it was obvious from the questions asked by many of the nurses that the social stigma around “marijuana” was alive and well. Would these nurses be so reluctant to accept and support medical cannabis use if…

View original post 1,604 more words

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

