Changes, Changes, and More Changes

Holy guacamole I was finally feeling the urge to write and things here have changed.  I couldn’t remember my name or my password and was a bit afraid I would lock myself out. Can’t begin to count the times I have done that lately with other sites. Of course it has been many many months since I last wrote, and my brain seems to forget things if I don’t use them daily.  Sometimes it even forgets things I do daily.   Sometimes I forget what I did five minutes ago, but oh well. That is my life.

Ironically I came here with the notion to quickly write about all the changes going on in my life.  I have really managed to step in it big time this go ’round. Quite by accident, on a whim, and ok maybe because I am no longer feeling the love at work.  I decided to jump into the deep end and sink or swim.

Fifty-three years old and I will be a first time college freshman come June 1st.  Yup I enrolled in a local community college.  Feeling a bit of panic, a whole lot of doubt, and a great deal of excitement at what this may bring for the future.  I’m not quite ready to give up my school bus license completely so going for an associate degree gives me some time to branch out while still hanging on to my life-preserver school bus certificate.

I’m tired of telling myself things will get better while I keep doing the same thing day after day.  They are not getting better but I continue to get older.  Time to get out of the kiddie pool and swim with the adults.

Time to make some changes.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Changes, Changes, and More Changes

  1. Good to see you back! Congrats on enrolling in college. It’s a good decision 😀

    • ramblinann says:

      Thank you, I am excited. The time finally came when I realized I was not getting any younger and I wanted something more. Going to school was always a dream. Now it is a reality.

  2. Susan says:

    Well done on taking that first step! I’m also 53, but when I was 40 I enrolled in a part-time business diploma course. I had never dealt with the “new” technology of computers before. It was a steep learning curve but very enjoyable. Sometimes life experience weighs more than young people give you credit for, and it feels good to prove them wrong every now and then. Seven years later I enrolled again for a creative writing course and found my real niche. Best of luck to you!

    • ramblinann says:

      Thank you Susan. I have received so much encouragement from everyone. Even the young tutors and advisers have been great. My biggest dilemma is the math. I hated it in high school (of course the same math is taught in elementary these days). The algebra formulas make even less sense to me now. My youngest son is going to help me through that. Congratulations on the writing. I have always loved to write, but don’t have the commitment it takes to do it for more than a now and then hobby. Alternative and Complimentary healthcare is something I have been interested in for years. I would have studied sooner, but the only schools available to me where online and I didn’t trust them. Now I can meet people face to face that have the same interest as I do. Very excited

  3. That’s awesome!!! I’m so excited for you. I’m a firm believer in going for it, even if you don’t know what IT is, and at any age. It’s never too late. This is going to be such a great experience. Good luck and well done!

    • ramblinann says:

      Sorry it took so long to reply. Better time management has got to become a priority. thank you for the encouragement. Every hurdle I encounter I second guess myself, but keep moving forward anyway. I am very nervous, but very excited. With the amount of people I have routing for me I can’t go wrong.

  4. Tammy says:

    Congrats on trying something new! How exciting! I keep going back and forth about going back to school but I can’t decide on what I want to do. But this is really inspiring. It’s never too late to take a different path. Best of luck to you!!!

Leave a Reply

