How Long Does It Take?

So I know I constantly procrastinate when it comes to writing here.  I come up with some great posts while I’m laying in bed at night, or driving my bus, or doing just about everything but sitting here typing.  When I sit with the laptop all ready and some free time I just draw a complete blank most of the time.   Sometimes I type my ass off and then find I have to go do something else, like return to work.   I think what I wrote something really great and when I re-read it, it sounds horrible so I never publish.  Then of course I never come back to it.

Tonight as I sit here I realize I need to go to bed.   It’s 8:00 p.m. and it has been an extremely long stormy day. I’m exhausted and still have one more day to go. Should be a piece of cake considering we have had like one full week of work since January 1st, but these short weeks are always so much longer.  Besides my husband just came out and put the tv on and now I can’t concentrate.

How long does it take to write here?  I’m not trying to write the next great novel, just a short blog post.  I already made the decision that I was going to spend this year writing for me not anyone else, but I still can’t get it done.   I spend so much time worrying I sound like a total numb nut that I’m afraid to hit publish.

Not tonight though.   Tonight I have spent a total of fifteen minutes coming up with this and after I spell check I am going to hit publish.  Maybe it might even make some sense.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in All In A Day, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Long Does It Take?

  1. Susan says:

    You are not alone. It takes me ages to write a blog-post. I need to start thinking about the topic days beforehand and when I sit down to write it, it always comes out wrong. A day or so later I’ll take another stab at it and often it will morph into a completely different topic, but I will realise that it wouldn’t have come into being at all if I hadn’t tried that first attempt.

    Having said that, I am slightly behind schedule on my theatre blog and need to get on over there and write something, but the words are just not forming properly yet…

    • ramblinann says:

      Susan I am exactly the same way. I have this wonderful thought running through my head. Sounds perfect, makes sense, and it gets lost somewhere between the brain and my fingertips. I’ve tried breaking out the phone to record everything, but I can’t even do that. Guess I’m only brilliant in my own mind. Nice to know it’s not just me. Thank you for your response.

Leave a Reply

