Books; Print or Electronic?

Recently I met some people who are avid readers like myself. The consensus seems to be that we still love our paper books. The gripping story held firmly in our hands, next page squeezed tight between finger and thumb, waiting, waiting, holding our breath, ready….turn that page.

It’s not quite the same with an e-reader. No pages, no paper cuts, no smell of ink on the paper. However; there is a whole library in the palm of your hand. Traveling with 70+ books in my bag would most certainly throw my back out. Not to mention take up a whole seat on the bus. It’s much easier to download them and have them saved as little bytes. With websites like The eReader Cafe and Amazon.com it is also very inexpensive.

I would be more than willing to compromise though. Cover my walls, floor to ceiling with print books. Bring in a comfy chair, ottoman, and reading lamp. Let me escape into an electronic format of Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter books or the late, Robert B Parker’s Spencer series and I would be happy. This way I can have the atmosphere and scent of printed pages combined with the convenience of an e-reader.  What more could a girl ask for?

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in All In A Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Books; Print or Electronic?

  1. jlsm697 says:

    My friends and I have this discussion often…I like the hard copy. I have an iPad…maybe that will change but I love holding a book. 🙂

  2. nivaladiva says:

    I don’t own an iPad yet so I don’t know what it’s like to read books on one, but I love hard copy books. The computer is for work. A book feels like a simple luxury. I always have one in my purse!

    • ramblinann says:

      I have a couple of books downloaded onto my laptop, but I have a very hard time reading a book on the computer. The E-reader is a bit more kind on the old eyes and back.

  3. trilbysink says:

    My home would be full of stacks of books. Not that that is a bad thing… 🙂

    Limit myself to purchasing actual books (my fav type too) for my favourite series only, that way I get to fully enjoy them as books. For all others it’s the handier kindle, for me.

    I too can’t handle reading off a backlit screen, it’s only the electronic ink kindle for me.

    • ramblinann says:

      I lost a lot of books years ago when we moved to a small apartment. They were stored in the basement “until we had room” Even after we moved upstairs to a much bigger apartment they were stranded in the basement. When we moved out of the house four years later I had to throw them all out. They were covered in mold and mildew. It made a very happy occasion (moving out of there) a kind of sad one.

      Right now I only have two small bookcases. One is full of World Topics year books from 1962 through I think 2002. The other has a very old set of classics that belonged to my father in law. I miss having books. Maybe I’ll just have to add floor to ceiling book shelves as a want to do project.

      • trilby's ink says:

        Just an idea.. I bought three decent looking six-self bookcases in walmart, I pinched them together tightly and strapped them to the wall. You would hardly know they are build-it-yourself from walmart. I even drilled holes in the back of the shelves to run wires and added a couple salt stone lights for added atmosphere (also healthy). I was pleasantly surprised with how they turned out. I would share pictures but these comment boxes won’t allow it. Whole cost was just over $100 (minus the lights) and took a day to put together. Turned the cold ‘computer room’ into a warm ‘study’.

        Have fun if you decide to build your shelves!

      • ramblinann says:

        That sounds wonderful. I would try and pull something like that off if I could send my husband away for a couple of days. He’s all you have to do this, and it won’t work that way, and this needs to be done this way. I love him to death and will keep him around, but sometimes he gets in the way of my creative side. LOL
        I need to get rid of my roll top desk before anything. I love it, but it’s too big for the room. A couple of filing cabinets with a wood plank would serve the purpose and add character. :- ) Oh now you have my brain wandering. I’ll be scouting for old wood doors to sand down and use.

      • trilby's ink says:

        The old wood doors would be really pretty!!

        hehe Have fun!

Leave a Reply

