GoodReads Challenge

I decided to do the reading challenge, through GoodReads, again this year. Last year I fell short, so this year I lowered my goal to thirty books for the year. Well it’s the end of May and I’m already four behind schedule.

Reading is one of the things I absolutely love to do.  I was one of those kids who sat and read the cereal box every morning. I read billboards, I read signs in windows; for crying out loud I read peoples t-shirts and bumper stickers. I go through withdrawals when I have nothing to read.  How can I be four books behind?

It could be that I have been busy outside lately or it could be that I am busy reading my email or other’s blogs.  I am thinking that it simply comes down to me zoning out and getting lazy when I am home.

I have downloaded a number of books to my laptop, but I have trouble reading books on the computer.   A friend, Quinn Cullen, gave me her e-reader and I carry it with me everywhere.  I consider myself old school and love the feel of a book in my hand, but between you and me, the e-reader has been a life saver.  It fits in my purse, weighs nothing, and I have a whole library at my fingertips.

If I could count everything I DO read every day I would be ahead of schedule, but alas none of it counts towards the challenge.  Still I think it is all good as it keeps my eyes focusing and my brain working. How much do you read on an average day?  Is it for work, school, or pleasure?  Would you read more if you had the time?

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in All In A Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to GoodReads Challenge

  1. I’m doing the Goodreads challenge too. My goal is 61 books this year and I’m 7 books ahead of schedule. Before you think that I sound smug, I must tell you that a lot of my reading is done on my morning commute. I spend approximately 30 minutes on the underground each way. I usually read 30-40 pages in one trip (depending on font size) and I make time to read each night for an hour or so before bed.

    At least my commute is good for something.

    I think that having a goal to read a certain amount of books makes me read more than I normally would, but I wouldn’t take it too badly if you don’t reach your goal. I think that the most important thing is to make sure that you enjoy the books you’re reading.

    • ramblinann says:

      Oh if I had a 30 minute commute I would be way ahead too. Unfortunately I am the one driving so reading is really not a good thing to do at that time. LOL In three and 1/2 weeks I go on summer vacation. I hope to be able to sit and read early in the morning before anyone else gets up. I try to read at night but as soon as I get in bed I fall asleep. The next day I usually have to reread what I read the night before. Do you prefer regular ole paper and ink or have you converted over to electronic?

      • Haha! Please don’t read while you’re driving! Summer vacation is the perfect time for reading. We’ve got one coming up soon too.

        I love stories and will read them in whatever format they come. I tend to read more paper books, however, but that’s because my favourite place to go is the library. I can’t resist getting a pile of books to bring home which means that I tend to neglect my e-reader.

        What are your preferences?

      • ramblinann says:

        storytimewithbuffy I love the feel of a book in my hand, but have become quite fond of the e-reader. I really fell in love with Sherrilyn Kenyon and her Dark Hunter series. I’ve been slacking with them and need to get my butt in gear. I love murder mystery and suspense, not into romance so much any more. Once in a while is ok but I like keeping my mind working on a good who done it. Gee I guess I like fantasy too.
        The stories I am trying to write started out as children’s but they have evolved into older kid or young teen. Hopefully I can get them completely rough drafted this summer too.

      • I’m trying to get my novel drafted this year too. I’ve started working on my first chapter, however, so that I can try to find my voice. I want to nail that so that I can work on the other chapters with that in mind. It’s a lot of work. (Especially with a full time job!)

        Good luck with your writing!

      • ramblinann says:

        Buffy you got that right. It is a lot of work. Keep going and you will accomplish what you set out to do.

      • Thanks! I’m just trying to make a little bit of progress every day. 🙂

  2. Jodi says:

    I’m on Goodreads too…Jodi Melsness. Reading calms me, always has. I’m reading Love Anthony. So good. I’ll really read anything. What are you reading? My nine year old and I just spent two hours at Barnes & Noble. Love. Mom was an avid reader too.

    • ramblinann says:

      Hi Jodi, right now I am reading Skipping Christmas by John Grisham. So far it’s good, has me laughing which is always good. I have three books downloaded onto my laptop that I need to get started on too. Tomorrow I think I will do a short post about a great site where every day you can download freebies and bargains. It’s great for book addicts.

  3. Pingback: 2013 Goodreads reading challenge | mom305

Leave a Reply

