Of Course I’m Not Superman

I am posting this with the permission of the author whom I only know as Grumpydawg or Dale.  He is the husband and caregiver for Linda, who suffers from Alzheimer’s Disease.

Of Course I’m Not Superman

But if I was,
I would work hard to change the fate
Of those stuck with this terrible disease
But I am just me..

A human being
One small contributor to one person
Trying to get by this day
Not letting myself worry too much about tomorrow

I can sense
when we have a good day here
When Linda is happy and confident
And no new challenges appear

Mostly though I just go with the flow
Try not to get too much emotion
showing to her
just show confidence and patience and smile

My time for self doubt
must come more when she is sleeping
and I can sit and analyze the day’s events
what did I get done, what did I overlook?

I trained before in football
and in business
so I try to train for this life
Train for what comes with it

Not always knowing what that will be
By coming here and professing my shortcomings
To my peers, I can come off the island
For a few precious hours each day

I can read with appreciation
the many facets of this disease ,
the toll it takes on all of us
the loneliness it brings.

I don’t wish it on a living soul
For it is quite a tough challenge
But we don’t pick our fate in life
but rather fate chooses us

There are many other sicknesses
that bring great suffering
to the human mind and body
So to those caregivers, we all say in unison we are sorry.

I read with interest the suggestions
I am learning from all of you
I am also learning on the job
May God help us all as we live this life challenge.

We must pray for the strength
and the courage to end each day strong
and to know that we did the best we can
To help and love them in their long journey

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in All In A Day, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

