The Future

I spend a good deal of time each day thinking about the future. Especially now that my mother has Alzheimer’s Disease.  As much as I didn’t want to know I guess there really wasn’t a choice but to know that there is a good possibility  I am genetically predisposed.  The more you research a subject the more you learn.  Isn’t that amazing? It becomes impossible to filter out what you want to know, versus what you don’t want to know. It’s just all there in black and white.

It is a scary thought that I could forget my life, my husband, my kids, and my friends. It is also beyond my comprehension that I could forget how to dress myself, talk, walk, eat….

I try not to dwell on this because I would drive myself insane now.  It does however cross my mind when I have to think quickly about something I KNOW. When the information I’m trying to retrieve is stored in my brain and I can’t get to it.  Simple things like street names and directions. That is a big part of my life. Something I can honestly say I am good at, and I very rarely say I am good at anything. When I can’t remember the name of a street I traveled four times a day for ten months it stops me in my tracks. Is this a precursor of things to come or is it simply a duh moment?  For now I choose to go with the latter.  It’s much easier to live with.

The future holds no promises for any of us. We must learn from the past and live in the present.  After all “Life’s A Journey Not A Destination”

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in All In A Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

