Teenagers

Some days, when I am on standby, I sit out back of the high school and watch the kids. It’s dismissal time, I am in my bus, and I have an elevated vantage point.

Teenagers do some of the silliest things. They jump on the hoods of their cars, they run all over the parking lot chasing each other.  They dance, they sing, they some times stand up to each other. They sit behind the wheel revving their engines and wasting gas. Worst of all; they blow their horns and hoot and holler as they leave.

Often I watch the administration and their reaction. They talk to the kids, point their fingers, wave, and give parental type warnings. I have seen them book it across the parking lot of real trouble starts, but mostly they stand watch.

Except this one person who is not admin, but holds some title.  The kids don’t wave or joke around with him. They don’t even notice he is there. Shaking his head in total disgust that these teenagers should act so devil-may-care, he struts around like a prancing peacock, important in his own mind. The poor sap is missing out on so much by not allowing himself to be caught up in the students unjaded outlook on life.

As the years have passed I have become more bitter, frustrated, and depressed with this world.  We are a mess. However; I hope the day never arrives when I look at a kid laughing and goofing off and think it’s a waste.

It is so much more the opposite.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in All In A Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Teenagers

  1. nivaladiva says:

    I love your perspective from the bus. I can totally picture it. Reminds me of the days when I used to be one of those teenagers acting a fool in the parking lot. Many moons ago. 🙂

Leave a Reply

