Sleep or Lack There Of

Sitting here at 4:37 a.m. all dressed and ready for work all I can think about is sleep. I want sleep! I need sleep! I can’t get enough sleep!  Oh So Sorry No Sleep Today.

There is something doing the Rumba in my intestinal tract. It’s cause I believe, the antibiotics I am on for the sinus infection I came down with last week, which made my throat become inflamed, leading me to not be able to swallow or talk. All spurred along, in part, by a lack of sleep.  I was down for the count for almost two days straight. Did it help? I thought so until now.

Now, it feels like sleep is the gold ring I keep reaching for but is but a mere fingertip away. The light at the end of the tunnel, ironically, or the grand prize in the lottery. That’s it! I need to win the sleep lottery!

I believe I have entered the phase in my life comparable to teenage years when extra sleep is needed.  I have passed through the young adult stage of all-nighters and have not yet entered senior-hood, where naps during the day make up for the insomnia at night.  I need sleep to function and there’s not enough hours to fill my quota.

Eight hours of sleep; is it real? I have heard talk of its existence. Somewhere on the other side of working for a living, a mom with Alzheimer’s,  a husband with the tv and light on all night, and a big furry Moose,

0430052344_01

There is a land where sleep awaits.

I will persevere.

I must continue to chase the dream.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in All In A Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sleep or Lack There Of

  1. Grndma Chris says:

    One thing that I find extremely helpful when I have to take antibiotics is to up my probiotics to double while I’m on them and for around 3 weeks after the meds are gone. The probiotics replenish the good bacteria that the antibiotics kill thus helping to prevent intestinal upset…it has worked for me every single time. I take probiotics daily but just double it for the course.
    I don’t want to sound like I’m pushing doterra oils on you but Lavender essential rubbed on the bottom of each foot before bedtime can help you unwind and sleep, I love it, it works wonders and it’s so much better for you than any sleep aid.
    Good luck Ann

    • ramblinann says:

      Thank you Chris. I had to stop the antibiotics because I had a pretty close call, won’t go any further. It’s funny you mention lavender oil. I was just telling someone yesterday that I am the only person in the world who does not like the scent of lavender. LOL Patchouli, sandlewood, and other earthy scents are the ones that relax me.
      I should look into probiotics though. Intestines need all the help they can get.

      • Grndma Chris says:

        A probiotic a day is definitely what everyone could use. I swear by them, they have completely regulated me and hardly any indigestion etc. since I’m been using them. Well worth looking into.

  2. Karen says:

    When younger, I relied on my youth and health alone to get me through the tough and busy days, nights, weeks and months. Now, in middle age, I need to rely upon getting enough rest, healthy food and exercise. I’ve noticed that when I eat poorly and don’t get enough sleep it all goes to pot, fast, so I try to avoid my sleep inhibitors (sugar and wheat) and about an hour before bed I just unplug and that seems to help me settle. Good luck to you, Ann. I hope you get the rest you need.

    • ramblinann says:

      Thank you Karen. I know I personally felt much better last year when I cut out sugar and grain carbs. Has become impossible now with my mother living here, but it is something I am working towards.
      As for having an hour before bedtime that is another impossibility. Mom sundowns pretty bad so I can’t leave her sitting alone.
      I figured out at the end of each week I am missing 7 hours of sleep compared to what I am used to. It explains quite a bit.

Leave a Reply

