I’m Sorry; Not This Time

I apologize in advance, no wait I really don’t apologize.  I’m tired of apologizing, feeling like it’s always me that is wrong. Feeling guilty when I say no, feeling guilty when I say yes, feeling guilty for feeling guilty, and for feeling nothing at all.

My day didn’t start off this way. It actually started with Bon Jovi. Sorry Quinn Cullen, but I woke to him singing to me again.  There I go apologizing.  I laid there talking to Casey, who I found sleeping comfortably next to me.

0328041346_19 It wasn’t until three songs later that I realized Montgomery Gentry hadn’t hit me with “He works way too much for way to little…” My phone alarm had not gone off.  Oh well I’m really not late at that point.

After stepping out of the shower my phone did belt out those words, my boss’s ringtone. I needed to drive a route for someone who takes a Sept-June job and goes away from Nov-April.  If it were a Monday,Wednesday, or Friday it’s not a big deal. Tuesday and Thursday’s it is. I babysit my little monkey Nolan.  If I know in advance we make arrangements for how and when I will get there, but I will not call my daughter at 4:30 in the morning to tell her have him ready to roll an hour early. Especially since I went over this morning’s schedule with my boss yesterday afternoon.

So big news here in sorry land…I SAID NO AND I FEEL BAD, BUT NOT SORRY!

and I apologize for that too.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in All In A Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m Sorry; Not This Time

  1. Eric Alagan says:

    Yes, bosses have a habit of doing that don’t they.

    Years ago, I had a boss who’ll receive a file in the morning and sit on it till 4.00 PM when he would toss it my way and want “the report first thing in the morning”. After the first few times, I would march into his office in the morning, grab the file(s) and walk out without a word – he never squeaked!

  2. ramblinann says:

    I need to add something…I found out later that morning that when my boss called me at 4:30 a.m. the reason she sounded so horrible was because she was calling from a hospital bed. She had had an emergency appendectomy the previous evening. Ended up in the ICU for a little while and was back up covering routes, probably unbeknownst to the hospital staff, at 4:00 in the morning.
    When she called me yesterday afternoon the conversation started like this.
    Are you alright? yes,
    Are you home? no
    YOU’RE CRAZY! I know
    She proceeded to tell me what I needed to cover in the morning and that she would talk to me later in the day.
    I love my boss, she is one of the sweetest people you could ever meet, but she needs a smack upside the head. Somebody needs to do that once she feels better.

Leave a Reply

