More Winter Weather

It’s another long Friday. Woke up to a major Nor’Easter.  They predicted it, but as usual they were a bit off. Claimed it was going to get bad Thursday so a bunch of schools cancelled.  Bad decision made from bad advice. When I picked up an early release at noon the sidewalks were dry.  Not a flake around.

That changed sometime over night.  The storm moved in with a vengeance.  By 4:00 a.m. we had a good six inches and it just kept piling up.  By 8:00 a.m. it was up to my husband’s knees.  I know this because I watched him push the snow blower while I tried to shovel. Two hours later we thought we were done, but it had accumulated enough to have to shovel again.  We shoveled a third time after venturing out to the store and it’s now all clear.  Melted in fact.

I used to get all excited about a big storm.  Fill water jugs, fill the bathtub, get stocked up on non perishables, and of course bread and milk.

Now I yell and swear at the weather people if they mention snow.  Now it means back-breaking shoveling, roof raking, and more often than not, losing a days pay.  There’s no fun left in it.

Spring is just around the corner they say.  I hope so because my shovel is broken and my back has gone on strike.  I won’t be shoveling again…until next time.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in All In A Day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Winter Weather

  1. SR says:

    LOL!!! “Back gone on strike!” That my dear friend is why I live in the south. I cannot even remember the last snow I saw. Summers are bad though, but I would rather tough that then snow storms. Hope you have had a good week with your Mom. Ours has been pretty good. Loved the post and God Bless, SR

    • ramblinann says:

      SR I couldn’t live down south. At least way down south. Maybe Carolina’s or Virginia but that’s it. I think I go into denial every once in a while and block out the fact that she has AD. Until she says something like “do you know when I moved in here I didn’t know where I was because I hadn’t seen you in so long.” I know I wasn’t there every day but minimum twice a month.
      I’m glad you had a good week. They are hard to come by. Have a wonderful & restful weekend.

Leave a Reply

