My Knight In Baggy Sweatpants

I would like to take a couple of minutes to tell you about someone very special in my life.  The man whom I could never have gotten through the last couple of months without.  I mean that with all my heart; my husband, Jim.

He is the one human being that knows me better than I know myself, and sometimes that sucks. He is also the one person who I undoubtedly take for granted the most. He’s here, he’s been here with me through so much over the years, and still he stays. Not to say he hasn’t packed his stuff and left on a few occasions. He has done that too, but he continues to come back and be the one person I continue to lean on.

Back in November we moved my mother in with us. I thought we were moving my slightly forgetful, slow-moving, overly critical, overly Catholic mother in.  I was not prepared for the person who came to live with us.

About six weeks into this adventure she was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s.

Both of us knew the term, neither one of us knew what it really meant.  Most people who have not known someone with the disease think it’s just old people forgetting names, forgetting faces, or getting lost when they go out.  We were in that group.  We were clueless.

Caring for someone with Alzheimer’s is a full-time 24/7 job. My mother can’t be left for long periods of time during the day. In the evening or at night forget it.  She sees people who aren’t there, hears people talking, and can’t do much for herself.

Jim is home with her all day EVERY DAY! He makes sure she has her coffee and breakfast on the days her HHA doesn’t come.  He gets her lunch, finds her snacks, turns the tv channels, and provides any and all conversation all day.

On top of all those things he has supper waiting for me, does my laundry, cleans the kitchen, takes care of the animals, does the grocery shopping, and fixes everything that breaks.

Last Wednesday, Valentines Day, he took care of mom all day, took apart and fixed our heat then he waited until I got home at 7:30 to sit and eat supper.  He greeted me with a smile and a “hi mumma”.  Handed me a cold Twisted Tea and asked if I had a long day.

By the time we crawled into bed all I could do was give him a hug and babble my thank you’s for being there and taking care of us.  No amount of chocolate or flowers means I love you more than what this man does for me. He is my knight in baggy sweat pants and I love him.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
Aside | This entry was posted in All In A Day, This and That and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Knight In Baggy Sweatpants

  1. SR says:

    My heart and prayers are with you. My mother also has it. It is a sad disease and so horrible to watch. You are correct, we are so “clueless.” We do have our “funny moments” though, because some of things she says, are so off of the wall. The “sun downers” are the problem. She can become extremely mean during those hours. She kicked me out of the house screaming to the top of her lungs. Two hours later did not even remember it. Hang in there and anytime you need to talk my blog is at http://beingfaithfultograce.wordpress.com or you should have my email with this comment. Please feel free. God Bless you and keep you both, SR

    • ramblinann says:

      Thank you for stopping by. Alzheimer’s certainly is a nasty disease. It is mentally exhausting for the care giver. You are right, there are some funny moments and I am trying to laugh as often as possible.
      You will be in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

