Deadline Is Looming

The other night I was feeling yucky and defeated. I was not as far along on my story as I wanted to be.  It is not the next great American Novel or anything as grandiose as that. It is a simple story that I have set my sights on finishing.  My plan is to put all my short stories together into one book and market them that way.

Part of my not being done is nobody’s fault but my own. I use up a lot of time playing mind numbing games on Facebook.  I admit it.  At the end of a long day when mom is sitting asking me questions or talking to me I can’t concentrate on writing. The television is on, people are spinning the wheel, and my brain is complete jelly. I hope this is not a precursor of things to come.

I planned on being stuck at home this weekend.  A blizzard was forecast to hit Friday night into Saturday. I knew it would shut the whole place down.  Great time to get some writing done.  I set a goal.

What I didn’t count on was five hours of shoveling to get us dug out.  Ok that ‘s and exaggeration for me. I waited until mom’s pills came out at 9:00 a.m. then I went out.  At 1:30 my husband and I dragged ourselves in the back door, proud of the fact we had done it.

I spent some time sitting in the same room with mom after that.  She was in a bit of a mood  Saturday afternoon so I just sat with my mouth shut, but again couldn’t get any writing done.  I did manage to catch up with quite a few blogs though.

Sunday dawned and I dragged myself out of bed around 6:00 when Casey decided she had let me sleep long enough.  I got my coffee and made myself comfy in the quiet living room. Until hubby got up and went in to listen to news on his computer. He’s pretty hard of hearing so of course the quiet living room was not so quiet anymore.

I did manage to get a whole section written, but my goal of the whole story straightened out just aint happenin tonight.   It’s now time to start supper, get the animals squared away, and sit with mom again.  With any luck I will manage a few more paragraphs or a whole section of the story.

A tiny taste…

Sneaking out the back door she stopped and hid behind the flowering Hibiscus.  It was a bright sunny day. One meant for lying in sweet grass gazing at the sky. Imaginary friends taking shape then drifting away in the cottony clouds above.  However; there would be no daydreaming today. Raina needed to be on her way now.  She didn’t know where but anywhere was better than here.  She was not princess material and never would be. 

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in All In A Day, Parental Caregiving, This and That, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Deadline Is Looming

  1. Grndma Chris says:

    Sounds really good Ann, keep it up.

  2. JasmineKyleSings says:

    Oh honey I’m sorry you didn’t get snowed in, in a good way! Just keep squeaking out some here and some there and try to not get to bogged down with expectations! LOVE YA!

    • ramblinann says:

      Thank you, I try not to get too down on myself when I don’t get anything productive done. Seems like I need more and more mental breaks lately. Some alone time wouldn’t be half bad either. I’ll keep plugging along, what else can I do.

  3. nivaladiva says:

    That paragraph alone makes me want to read more, so kudos! Hope you can get more writing done this week. It’s so hard to find the time, I know. I haven’t written a word since leaving VT.

Leave a Reply

