Vision Letters

Has anyone sat down and written a vision letter?  Has it worked?

Have you ever reread yours and thought

“What the hell were you thinking? Are you out of your ever lovin mind to think you could achieve this?”

Or

“This is not what I want. I might have wanted this 5…10 years ago, but I don’t want this now.”

When I joined Life’s Abundance, as a rep, we went through vision letters as part of a training with Dennis Berardi, one of the co-founders.  It was meant to keep us focused on building a successful business. Keep that vision in front of us and we will reach it. The mind will tell us it’s real and soon it will be. Yea, well it didn’t work for me.   Why? Was it that my mind just wasn’t strong enough?  or  Was it something else?

Back then my vision was to have a huge piece of land on a small private lake.  I wanted to build a huge no kill animal shelter.  Put all my energy into rescuing dogs and cats and spend any spare time sitting near the lake watching my husband fish.  It was all about working with the animals.

Seven years later I would still love to build the no kill shelter, but know that at my age I don’t have near enough energy to work at it all the time.  I would need to be a multimillionaire (not likely to happen no matter how much I think about it) so I could supervise, staff, and maintain it.  That way I could still save all the pups and kits.

Vision Letter 2013

Closing my eyes, I envision a house by the lake (some things never change). It’s peaceful and warm.  I am sitting on a chaise lounge listening to the birds sing when the scent of honeysuckle wafts passed on a soft breeze.  

I have been up since before dawn, having spent those early hours writing and editing my newest book.  It is now late morning and I have finished work for today.   My afternoons are made for relaxation, rejuvenation, and imagination.  

This is what I see for me in 10 years.  Yes I am giving myself only 10 years to achieve this.  Life moves very quickly and I feel like I have gotten off to a late start.  Stories have been started and need to be finished. New ideas are popping into my head at lightening speed.  Picturing the morning above is what I hope will keep me moving forward.  Friends, both on and offline giving me a good swift kick in the butt once in a while will keep me from giving up.

I’d like to know what you see for yourself in 10 years.  Where will you be?  What will you be doing for a living? How will you be enjoying life?  Put it in writing for all to see.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in This and That, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vision Letters

  1. I sometimes write vision letters but I never knew I was!! I would like to say how noble it is to open a no kill shelter! I would like to have 3 things! 1 I would like to have a garden farm where we try new gardening techniques like forest gardening AND start up a farm equipment service for small farmers and gaining advise from seasoned farmers. 2. Of course a wonderful music career I vainly want to win some grammies, really get people to hear and enjoy my music OH and write a opera or musical. 3. Grow old with my husband and watch my children grow and help all of them with all of there problems and goals.
    It’s a big list but I am only 34:)

    • ramblinann says:

      Well gee it would be nice to say I know someone who won a Grammy, even if it is only here. So you better get going and win one. I’m not getting any younger.
      The farm idea is great. We are losing so many small family farms.
      As for the no kill shelter, I would adopt every dog and cat out there if I could. Give all the abused furbabies luxury accomodations, big yards to run in, and indoor tree gardens. Yes it would take more money then I will make in a life time.

Leave a Reply

