Dementia and Genetics

I haven’t started researching. I haven’t even typed it into Google once. The fear is too great. If I see it in black and white it will send me into a panic.  Is dementia genetic?  Am I predisposed to this?

My grandfather on my mother’s side died when I was young. I remember nothing about his mental abilities.  My grandmother had no memory issues as far as I know. She lived in her own apartment until she became physically ill.  In the olden days, a sick person went into the hospital and stayed until they got well or died. She went in after I got married in October of 1981 and died before September of 1982. I don’t remember there being talk of her being senile.  I believe that was the term used back then.

So where is this all coming from? My mother’s sister went from being very active to a locked ward.  All within a year, two tops. My mother’s is obviously not so far advanced that she has to be in a facility, yet she really can’t be left alone for long periods of time. She doesn’t remember simple things like how to turn off the tv, how to answer the phone, and she has started calling my husband Bill. His name is Jim.

These things are bad but they are just the tip of the iceberg.  She has also started seeing people who are not there and hearing things that are not being said.  There is no way to reason with a person when they are in this state.  Sometimes I am able to think quick and come up with an excuse for what she is convinced she saw. Other times I am at a complete loss.

What frightens me is I already see memory loss in myself. Is it normal aging or the start of something bigger? Will genetics play a part in mental decay as I get older?  I’m too afraid to find out. I can’t stop time, but there must be a secret to slowing it down.  I want to see my face on the Today Show’s Smucker’s jar and remember it’s me.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in All In A Day, Parental Caregiving, This and That and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dementia and Genetics

  1. JasmineKyleSings says:

    Some times I forget so much I think I have early onset
    But I’m paranoid! If you are really worried go see a Md. To reassure you. And get some rest! You have so many stressful things going on you really need a brake.

  2. ramblinann says:

    You mean I can’t believe everything I read on the internet? Thank you for telling me to see a Dr if I get to paranoid. Some days I get more worried then others; then I forget. 😦

  3. Tammy says:

    I worry about this, too. My grandmother on my dad’s side starting thinking kind of weird before she passed away (she was pretty young when she died, too…late 60’s). So I worry that I will go through that at some point. If you get too worried, talk to you doctor to see if they can test for that. Medicine is so advanced these days that it wouldn’t surprise me to learn there is an early detection test that can tell you how prone you are to certain things.

Leave a Reply

