After Christmas Cards

Between my mother, my husband, and me we managed to get quite a selection of Christmas cards this year.   I will openly admit I love getting Christmas cards. Any other time of the year I’m like “Why did you waste $4.99 on a card?” Yes I am cheap. I am not a card person.  I open them, read them quickly, then they sit around collecting cat fur until I feel they have used up their $4.99 worth and they go to recycle.  I am even worse at sending.  I hate shopping, the 99¢ section has a limited selection of cards, and I never have a stamp.   My deepest apologies to everyone I have missed over the years.

At Christmas however; I love cards.  Receiving that is.  Sending, see above paragraph.  This year was different though.  I dragged my mother to the $1.00 store and she picked out a couple of boxes. Since I was there I picked up two boxes and gave them to my bus drivers.  It was not a grand gesture. It was a genuine gesture of thanks and appreciation.  I received so many thank you’s I was glad I had made the effort, as small as it was.

I now sit looking at all the Christmas cards that decorate the house. Some of the senders were recipients from my mom. The ones from hubby’s friends and/or mine did not get anything in return.  I feel a new tradition budding.  “AFTER CHRISTMAS CARDS”

Being school vacation I should be able to find a day to sit and write out cards to people who were nice enough to think of us during the holiday season.  I can use this year as a trial run. Store bought cards with a little hand written note.  By next year I should be able to come up with something more personal.

Hmmmm greeting card writing. An ironic way to kick off the new year.

If anybody comes up with a saying they think would be appropriate, G rated, email it to ramblinann2012@gmail.com . If I use it I will gladly give you credit on the card itself.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in This and That and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to After Christmas Cards

  1. JasmineKyleSings says:

    I love christmas cards. I don’t get any anymore due to the fact we decided to carry on our lives away from our family’s but I know I will start getting some one day!!! I love to display them on the wall for all to see. I put them in a box and look at them as we put up decorations the next year. It’s SO nice!

  2. I like the thought of “after Christmas” cards…you might be on to something there. I too am the worst at mailing cards, okay I am the worst at mailing all things!

    • ramblinann says:

      I have a post office within a 1/2 mile of here, but it is just too inconvenient to get to. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.
      Heading to civilization today. Will have to stop at a store and check out the card selection. I already have some ideas for next year. Maybe I should pick up a roll of stamps now. ;- /

  3. Pingback: Keep It Positive | Ramblin Ann's Blog

Leave a Reply

