I Wish, I Wish, I Wish

Since I was little I had an imagination. Yes I was that weirdo child who had imaginary friends.  Strawberry and Diddid.  Hey I was a kid, I don’t know how they got their names. I do know now that they were a product of my imagination.  The same imagination that brought me to many places that didn’t exist, introduced me to many strange little characters, and lulled me to sleep.  It was my escape from whatever was going on in the real world. The 60’s, the Vietnam War, The Civil Rights movement, etc…

It was the early 70’s that one of my imaginary characters was brought into the public eye. As a fifth grade English assignment Mrs Thomas made us write a short story and read it to the class.  I was terrified.  The other kids would laugh at me. I purposely kept it short.

I wrote about a little princess who hated it at home and ran away into the forest. It didn’t make any sense. It didn’t have to.  As a child, I wasn’t concerned with having one part flow into the next. I didn’t feel the need to explain small details like how my little princess got up to the top of a tree.  I wrote what a child’s mind imagined and it was a pretty neat little story if I do say so myself.

I remember standing there like it was yesterday. Knees shaking, heart racing, and voice crackling, I read my princess story to Mrs Thomas’s fifth grade class.  No one laughed,  I don’t think anyone even paid attention. Except Mrs. Thomas. She told me I did a very good job.  She told me she liked my “little” story and she told me I needed to write more, needed to continue telling the princess’s story.

I wish I had listened to Mrs Thomas.  I wish I had written more stories when my imagination was free to soar where my now logical mind can’t seem to go.  I wish I had followed the advice of the one person who had encouraged me to write.

I wish that the Mayans “End Of The World” means figuratively.   A wake up call to start anew.  Which is what I will do when I wake up next Saturday.  Stop wishing my life away and start doing.

First on my list: A rough draft of my princess story and a personal thank you to Mrs Thomas, if I can find her.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in Frustration & Aggravation, This and That and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Wish, I Wish, I Wish

  1. JasmineKyleSings says:

    First off if I had a imaginary friend I can think of NO better name that Diddid! I bet you were a CUTIE!!! Secondly the Myans are full of shit!!!! the worlds going on because the world would NEVER end on a SAT! If the world would end it would be on a MONDAY!!!!

  2. Pingback: Keep It Positive | Ramblin Ann's Blog

Leave a Reply

