I Don’t Eat/Like That

Growing up we never had a choice what to eat for supper. We ate what was put in front of us or we went without. It was not because my parents were mean or abusive. It was because they grew up during The Great Depression. You wasted nothing. If it was food it was eaten whether you liked it or not.  It was passed from my grandparents to my parents who passed it to me.

Because of this I am finding it EXTREMELY difficult when my mother won’t eat what is offered or made. I knew she was getting picky, but this is ridiculous.

We moved her in the day before Thanksgiving. Since that day she does not eat dark bread, meaning wheat.  I don’t mean whole grain wheat. I mean white bread trying to pull itself off as wheat bread. Pumpernickel and that brown bread in a can apparently don’t count. Those she loves.

When I was trying to get her to eat lunch one day she told me she didn’t need to eat.  It ended in an argument and after I pleaded with her to at least eat some fruit, she informed me she doesn’t like fruit.  Give her a “Cup Of Soup” which is basically a packet of salt, preservatives, artificial color, and fake meat and she is good.  Give her something nutritious and she makes a face.

To that list of won’t eat we can add, cheese of any kind, milk, yogurt, mushrooms, baked beans, rice, salad, eggs on certain days, steel-cut oatmeal, blueberries, decaf green tea, and lite perked coffee.  Those fake tea bag looking coffee things are much tastier.

I have taken to hiding food within food in order to get her to eat.  The gravy she had on her pork chop last night was Cream of Mushroom soup, I know it’s not healthy and she hates it anyway. However; I was able to hide fresh cooked carrots and broccoli in the soup and she ate everything.  Later this week I will make the attempt to pass cauliflower off as rice.  I know I know she doesn’t like rice either, but if I load it up with something she does like, just not sure what yet, maybe she will eat it.  I gotta lay off the butter and gravies though. Neither one of those have any nutritional value for all the fat and calories they give.

Next week I move on to spaghetti squash and sauce.  Onward and upward, even if it kills me.  I will accept any and all advice from anyone who knows food.  I am very challenged in this area.  Oh nothing spicy. Neither she or my husband can eat that. I live in a totally bland meat and potato world.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in All In A Day, Parental Caregiving, This and That and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Don’t Eat/Like That

  1. JasmineKyleSings says:

    I only have a 2 year old. But I know if he eats it I give it to him. I’m not talking about fast food but I am TRYING as you are to not freak out every time he doesn’t eat EXACTLY what I would like him to.
    I really have NO advise this is a tough situation, some may see it silly but those of us who care especially about nutrition can some times rip our hair out over meals and NO’s
    I’m right there with you sister! IF you get any good advise and it may apply to a 2 year old shoot me a line!!!!

    • ramblinann says:

      I never had a problem with my kids. It should not be so difficult with my mother. I certainly will send any advise along. From what I hear from other moms they too have children who eat very limited diets. It’s get whatever you can into them so they don’t starve and hope you can hide some healthy stuff in there once in a while.

  2. Tammy says:

    Does she like mashed potatoes? You can make cauliflower mashed “potatoes” and it tastes just like the real thing. Just steam the cauliflower til softened, then mash it in a food processor (adding in some milk and a little butter or seasonings of your choice) until you get the consistency of mashed potatoes.

    Will she drink smoothies? You can blend just about any combo of fruit and greens (kale, spinach, etc) together. The fruit masks the taste of the greens (especially if you use banana), so it tastes sweet but still has nutrients.

    Black bean brownies: drain and rinse one can of black beans. Puree (add some water if it’s too chunky on it’s own). Add pureed black beans to one box/package of brownie mix. Mix well (again, add a little water to get a good batter consistency if necessary). Bake according to package directions. A sweet treat with added fiber and no added unhealthy fat/oil.

    That’s all I can think of right now (I’m not that great with food, either), but hopefully you will find a way to get her to eat more. Bless you for taking such good care of your mother.

    • ramblinann says:

      I will try the cauliflower potatoes. For the rice all I do is throw raw cauliflower in the food processor and grind until it’s in little pieces. Put it in a micro safe dish and nuke it for a couple minutes. No water, no nothing. Once it’s hot I sometimes add a touch of butter but usually just sauted mush, onions, pepper or some diced tomato. The potatoes will probably be a bigger hit because she likes potato.
      I haven’t tried a smoothie because she hates yogurt and the consistency would turn her off. Have you ever tried making one and freezing it? I might be able to sneak it by as a dessert.
      Hmmm black bean brownies. That might be interesting.

      Thank you for all the ideas. I need all the help I can get.

Leave a Reply

