My Dream On Drugs

There is a reason I don’t take drugs.  They do weird things to me.

I’m not talking about illegal drugs, though I don’t do those either.  I am talking regular OTC stuff.  Drugs I can walk into the local CVS and buy,  Motrin, Tylenol, Aleve… .

Last Friday I started with a sore throat.  I went all weekend without taking anything for it. On Monday I went back to work. The soreness was replaced by hoarseness and a cough from post nasal drip. I knew sleep would not come without the aid of something.  At bedtime I took a dose of cold/flu medicine.  A generic form of NyQuil to be exact. It knocked me out.

Tuesday night not quite the same effect.  Last night it didn’t knock me out at all and the little bit of sleep I did get was filled with pretty weird dreams.

In one I was sitting on the floor in a department store. I believe it was Kmart, but it could have been Caldors which is no longer in business.  Either way; I was sitting on the floor at an end-cap display.  What was I doing you ask?  I was sorting through and arranging my mother’s Depends and Poise pads.  They were brand new and there I sat putting them in nice neat piles.  Along came a teenage worker with a broom.  Apparently it was time for the store to close and one of his duties was to sweep the floor.  He did not question what I was doing (what teenage clerk would?), he did not ask me to get up, he didn’t even continue around me.  Instead he struck up a conversation with me.  About what I don’t remember, but I do remember it being very detailed.

In the middle of our conversation my cousin Kim appeared.  She had her arms full of Christmas presents for her grand-kids.  Perfectly believable as she has three grandsons. What is not believable is that she was about 20 years old and dressed in clothes the two of us couldn’t afford if we put both our yearly salaries together.  The clothes were designer yes, but what I was drawn to were her earrings.  They were absolutely gorgeous. Made up of a gazillion dangling little green and silver beads.  Not gemstones. I mean those little beads you buy in a kit to make jewelry.  I was drawn to them even as I jumped up and gave her a big hug. All I could see were those earrings.  I didn’t say “hi”, I didn’t ask “how are you?”  I said “I love your earrings”

She responded with a yes yes I know darling attitude. Then informed me she needed to get to the checkout and promptly dismissed me.  WOW! So not my cousin Kim.

The teenager gave up on our conversation and continued on with his broom.  I gathered the Depends and chased my cousin to the checkout where I pushed in front of everyone to throw my stash on the belt.  Really?  They all let me go. Not one of them said a word as I cut to the front of the line.  I remember it being very bright, very crowded, and very loud, and then I woke up.

Depends, Designer clothes, and Dangly earrings.  Only Drugs could make me connect them in a Dream.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in All In A Day, This and That and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

