Patience

Patience has never been one of my strong suits. I hate waiting, I hate moving slow, and I hate feeling stuck in one place.  I also get frustrated kind of easily when things aren’t moving right along.

Today I had to bring my mother for some blood work.  Nothing wrong, just routine stuff before her appointment next week.  I was already dreading having to go into the city, but having to pass up work on top of it brought my level of patience to a bare minimum. I am trying to come to grips with the fact that it has to be me. My brother is too busy playing softball, going to the bar, sleeping after his long day at work, or going on vacation, to be of any use for our mother. So my mother needs me and I should not be so selfish.  It is hard being the responsible one. Is it wrong to want some irresponsible time?  Time to hang around and do nothing? It wouldn’t last long.  It never does. There is always something that has to be done.  Anyway I have veered way off course…

So this morning, as we were blocking the aisles in the grocery store I just kept repeating to myself, “Patience, patience, patience…some day I am going to be old.  Some day it could be me standing here not knowing why I’m standing here.  Some day people might be breaking into my apartment stealing my Depends and Coke Zero.  Some day she will not be here and I will feel guilty I did not have more patience with her.”

Patience; it is a gift to be treasured when given or received. Pass it along

* Just an ironic side note.  Never a big Guns & Roses fan, but one of my favorite songs is Patience.  Didn’t it come on the radio on the way home.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in All In A Day, Frustration & Aggravation, Parental Caregiving, This and That and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

