Career Change?

Is there a common age when people decide to change careers?  Is there a common reason? Boredom, lack of opportunity, frustration, better pay?

Every year at this time I think; I am done with this job.  I am tired of the headache, the politically correct b.s. that goes with it, the behavior, and the lack of respect.  Then summer vacation starts and I get between 10 and 12 weeks off.  The previous years problems fade and I know, I just know, it’s going to be better in the fall.

This year I am not so sure. This year feels different.  Maybe it’s because this year was particularly rough on every level. Maybe it’s because I don’t have a regular route to go back to next fall. Maybe it’s time to do some serious thinking about where I will be in 10 years if I choose to continue like this.  When I turn 60 do I want to be worried about not having health insurance? Do I want to got to work even when I am sick?

I have never been very good at making big decisions.  I think and think, but find it hard to come to a conclusion.  I’m afraid of making the wrong choice and not being able to go back.  Prime example; last year, giving up one of the best bus routes I ever drove. I regret doing it. I had great kids (most of the time) and I only had to deal with high school kids in the afternoon.  Now I have nothing set up for this fall.  I will have to take whatever route will be available come August.  I believe that is one of the reasons I am contemplating a change.  I love driving a bus and I actually do love the little ones and their energy.  I just can’t handle the two together anymore.

This is going to be the summer of researching and soul-searching.  My brain keeps returning to ten years ago when I had a brief couple of weeks where I knew what I wanted to do. It was just impossible at that time because I couldn’t quit a full-time job to do it.  The time might now be right to start that journey.  It will be slow, no doubt about that.  There won’t be any major changes for a while, but it will give me a light at the end of the tunnel to keep driving towards.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in All In A Day, This and That and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Career Change?

  1. Tammy says:

    I’m terrified of major change, no matter what it is. I hope you are able to find the courage to pursue your passion. You deserve to be happy and if you have an opportunity to do something you truly love/enjoy, then I say go for it!

  2. ramblinann says:

    Thank you Tammy. I will start looking into things next week after school is done. I will not give up my school bus license if I can help it, but as I get older I realize there are some benefits I need and can’t afford driving a school bus. Health insurance being a big one. We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

