Aging Parents

“Do I need to buy her something?”  Asked with a bit of resentment.
“I was going to buy her a gift certificate to the bank.”
“Is she and Ward or what ever his name is….?”

These are all questions my mother asked regarding my daughter’s, her grand daughter’s upcoming baby shower.   Some days she just isn’t with it.  Some days she knows what she wants to say, but the words are no longer there.  Some days it comes and goes all in one conversation.

It feels like constantly rowing against the current but only moving down stream.  It is not going to get any better, but it’s sure to get worse.  She has begun to feel this. She gets mad at herself for being so “useless” and “such a pain”, then she gets sad and depressed because she is relying on me, adding to my list of things to do.  It is a constant roller coaster ride of emotions.
That’s just her.  Myself, well I have a whole separate ride going.

It was not supposed to be like this.  I’m not sure what I imagined would happen when my parents got older. I guess I never gave it any thought.  When you are young, parents are just there.  In my mind I still pictured my mother like when I was a teenager. I was not prepared for when reality hit; and hit it did.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in Parental Caregiving and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Aging Parents

  1. Tammy says:

    Wow. This hit home for me because, although my parents are still rather young (late 50’s/early 60’s), I worry about the responsibility of taking care of them as they age. Especially my dad. Dementia runs in his family and I just don’t know how I’m going to deal with it if he ever goes that route. I mean, I hate to sound so Debbie Downer about something that hasn’t happened yet, but as an only child, my parents are MY responsibility which I fully accept and embrace. Family is everything, and I know the time will come when hard decisions will have to be made. Life happens whether we’re ready or not. Thanks for writing so honestly.

    • ramblinann says:

      You don’t sound like Debbie Downer. You sound like someone who is preparing for what the future may bring. I have one brother, but he was never available when I needed him to do anything so I gave up asking. I’m sure there will be more stories about that. ;- )

Leave a Reply

