My Quaker Indy

I didn’t start out this morning with a goal to terrorize by poor neurotic quaker parrot Indy, but I think that is what I ended up doing.

It started with cage cleaning. Indy’s needed a whole complete scrubbing, including the little tent she sleeps in.  That is always traumatic for her. She hates changes being made and protects her home viciously.  Today she wanted nothing to do with this whole thing.  She screamed, bit, and held onto every thing I tried to change.  She worked herself into a tizzy and I worked up a sweat.

When everything was back in order she finally gave in and came out of the cage for me to hold. I thought “this would be a perfect time to practice Reiki” Not thinking there would be any specific positions on a bird this size, I just held her in my hand.  She relaxed completely.  Never made a move.  After, she even let me groom her pin feathers and trim her beak.

Was I satisfied with the beauty of the moment? Of course not. I decided she needed a bath desperately.  Now, she usually loves to jump around in a dish of water but today was a no go. She really was not thrilled when I gave her a shower in the kitchen sink.

If you’ve never seen a soaking wet feather plucker (not a play on words, she pulls her feathers out) get screaming mad it’s a sorry sight.  What feathers she has got all dark and clumped together.  Her wings were flapping like crazy and once again she was yelling at me to “STOP IT”!  I felt horrible.

I wrapped her in my hands and brought her back into my room which is also the pet room. I let her calm down a little more than put her up on top of her cage so she could get the rest of her frustrations out.   Watching her pace around grumbling and mumbling under her breath  is what prompted me to grab the computer and write this.  I never take the time to just sit and look around.

Today, even though I terrorized her, or feel like I did, Indy didn’t hold it against me. Instead she captured my attention and made me stop to watch her. Almost like showing me what I am missing when I don’t take time to enjoy what I have.   She is very smart for such a small creature and I don’t think I appreciate her nearly enough.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in Pets, This and That and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Quaker Indy

  1. Wazeau says:

    Awww, poor little thing. Such intelligence in her eyes though.

  2. Pingback: Ramblin Ann's Blog

Leave a Reply

