Cosmic Messages and My Diet

My goal this morning was to get something written.    I had three drafts started, all serious.  I didn’t like the way they sounded, or I sounded, so I shelved them.  Back to square one.

Think, think, think….did you smell the smoke? Could you see the pain as my brain went completely blank?  Yup, nothing there.  So instead of writing I went to my email and read other people’s blogs from the last couple of days.

Every one of them had a common thread.  Weight.  One is a fitness blog, Fitness PhoenixX, so that made perfect sense.  The other two are writer’s blogs,  Kristen Lamb’s Blog and Ermilia. It was cosmic. I took it as a sign to write about my diet and the breakfast Quiche I made this morning.
Isn’t it pretty? Yes, I have now gotten to the point I am taking pictures of my food.  Not because I am an aspiring gourmet chef, but because I am cooking healthy and NEED to share the proof.

The recipe came from the Zone Diet website.  The original called for two mini loaf pans.  One breakfast for two. Way too much for me to eat at one sitting.  I slice it and reheat for a couple of hot breakfasts through the week. I only use egg substitute and tricked it up a bit because the original had little taste, but it is still low in fat and high in protein.  It is also very easy to make.

Recipe is as follows.  If you want to make two small loaves, just divide everything in half when you put it in the pans.

Breakfast Quiche

Preheat oven to 350° F, spray loaf pan with non stick spray or olive oil.

Ingredients

2 whole eggs
4 egg whites
1 Cup egg substitute in place of above ingredients (I have used both regular egg substitute and 100% egg white substitute)  To get the yellow color of eggs use the regular kind)
1/2 C skim shredded cheese
1 1/2 C chopped fresh mushrooms
1/2 C chopped onion
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 C frozen spinach (thawed and drained) Can substitute broccoli
3/4 C chopped tomato
3 slices low-fat Canadian Bacon chopped (optional)
Basil, Parsley, Salt & Pepper to taste

Saute all veggies just until tender.  Pour into loaf pan.  Top with cheese and bacon.  Beat eggs if using real ones or shake substitute.  Add seasoning to either then pour on top of veggie cheese layers.

Bake uncovered at 350 for 30 minutes or until top is golden brown.  I stick a meat thermometer into the middle and make sure it is at 180°.  Remove and let cool a few minutes before slicing.

I will heat a slice of this and a serving of oatmeal (you remember my huge batch of oatmeal) to go with my coffee before I run out the door.  It’s hot, it’s filling, and it’s nutritious.

The diet goes along nicely during the week, but the weekends are rough.  Out with friends, on a bus charter where my salad, cottage cheese, and yogurt just won’t do, or sitting and relaxing.  All make me want to eat.

Tomorrow I step on the scale.  Will I have lost any more or have I hit a plateau?  I can’t cut any more food out which means my only choice will be; I hate to even say it, exercise.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in All In A Day, This and That and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cosmic Messages and My Diet

  1. Thanks for the mention! 🙂 Nice recipe! I love make-ahead meals & this one sounds yummy. Oh, exercise.. it does wonders!!

  2. Ermilia says:

    Oh I’ve read about the Zone diet. How do you like it? Your cooking looks WAY better than mine. Mine turned into an Ode to Bill Cosby, an absolutely disastrous attempt at chocolate chip pancakes. http://wp.me/p1HrCI-ib

    I’m glad our blog could give you some writing muse! If you ever need some more inspiration, check out Picture it & Write.

    -Eliabeth

  3. ramblinann says:

    Eliabeth what you couldn’t see from the picture was the slant in the Quiche. My oven must be at an angle because it came out looking like a ski jump. I love your chocolate chip pancakes. Some day I’ll write about the Lentil Casserole that even the dog wouldn’t eat.
    I love your blog also.

    • ramblinann says:

      Sorry I forgot to tell you my thoughts about the Zone. I am trying to follow the basic philosophy but I can’t be a zone guru. I love my coffee, a fresh homemade muffin, and Reese’s. I have done very good giving up my cereal though. It was nothing for me to go through a big box every couple of days. Now it’s been none in a couple of weeks. I do feel like my curly hair is starting to turn green and look more like broccoli. I would recommend the diet to others and let them decide how much is right for them.

      • Ermilia says:

        Reeses… *mouth waters* I can’t either, that’s why I like Weight Watchers. If you want something, you have to budget for it, just like finances. It keeps you from having to give anything up.

        Awe, your pour casserole, it just wanted to find a good home in someone’s stomach LOL

Leave a Reply

