Life Without The Internet

This post was written during the snow storm that hit the east coast on October 29, 2011.  I was not able to post it until I returned to work on Tuesday and had wifi. 

A Record history making storm hits the area. So many things to post, so many things to write about, and here I sit on battery backup with no internet connection.
I never realized how much I rely on the internet. Keeping in touch with people is just a small part of what I do. Weather conditions and storm emergencies, banking, and Oh My God “School Closings” As I fought to get the internet on my cheapo prepaid cell phone last night I was going through some serious withdrawals.
How did we function? How did we learn about the weather? How did we find out if there was school when there was no electricity, no cable, and no internet. We lived like barbarians. We waited for the phone to ring, not cordless because that needed power, but the real old phone with the mile long cord so it could be carried to any location in the house.
This morning I actually had to make a trip to the bank to check balances and transfer money. It was inconvenient and a bit scary. I could not remember what my balance was or what bills were scheduled to be paid. Normally I would just log on, check, and transfer if needed. Could it be possible that all this technology is making us totally dependent? Are we now unable to function without it? I fear that younger generations will find themselves in that predicament, but not me. I might be a little inconvenienced, but not unable to get by. I just fall back on knowledge of how it was done in “the olden days”. For once being older works for my benefit.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in Frustration & Aggravation, This and That and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

