Straight Lines or Detours

I recently read a post titled Pessimist, Optimist, Realist and it started me wondering what makes people tick?  What makes them choose how they are going to live their lives and how they make life defining decisions.

For a strong financial future, a game plan would be a great thing to have.  Walking that straight line to reach a five or ten-year goal has its benefits, but what makes people live their whole lives like this?  I’m talking outside of financial goals. Planning every little detail long before it happens.  Do people like this miss living life because they are so busy planning for it?  Does their world fall apart if life happens and a detour is a must?  I suspect some do and that is a shame.

When I was young I never gave much thought to growing old or which path I was going to take along the way.  I just lived my life as it came along.  No plans for where I wanted to be in five or ten years.  I took it one day, one month, and one year at a time. 

Along the way I have taken many detours and I would not have it any other way. It has made my life interesting to say the least.

Now I daydream about a future where my finances say I can work when I want and from where I want.  However I can’t give up taking a detour now and then to make that daydream a reality. Detours can be so much fun.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in This and That and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Straight Lines or Detours

  1. Madison Woods says:

    Hmmmm. I have to say I’m a ‘planner’. But I surely wouldn’t say it didn’t lead to detours or missing out on life.

    For as long as I can remember, since I was a little girl, I’ve always wanted to live in the mountains and be close to nature, and I’ve wanted to lead a self-sustaining life. If I had been a *better* planner, I might have gotten here much sooner and with a lot less heartache along the way. Most of the detours led to painful situations which were offset by the joys that also were down those roads. By the end of each detour, I grew to be a stronger woman, so I still wouldn’t want to have avoided them altogether. The bumps and obstacles have all contributed to who I am today.

    Many, or maybe most people I know have no real strong inclination to do anything or be anyone in particular, they just go with the flow life gives them along the way. It works great for them, I think. But I’m not wired the same, and I’d be very frustrated and unhappy if I had no means to direct my life to the places I want to be.

    • ramblinann says:

      It is nice to hear from someone who is a planner, but allowed life’s detours to make her stronger. I know too many others who are sent into a tail spin if they have to take the smallest step off the path. These are the ones I worry about. They go through life with blinders on, not even taking a chance to look at the beauty of the journey.
      I am not quite the totally “go with the flow” person. Yet I think I have a bit of gypsy blood and occasionally do like to go where ever the road takes me. Of course the planner in me returns to my job, pay my bills, and daydreams of things to come.
      Thanks for your post and for jump starting my brain.

  2. Pingback: Straight Lines or Detours (via Ramblin Ann’s Blog) « Madison Woods

Leave a Reply

