An Outside Kennel?

Let me begin with I have one dog right now.  She is a five-year old, spoiled rotten, in the house, beagle, named Casey.  She does go outside for walks and to do her thing, but she is in no way an outside dog.

The last couple of weeks they have been doing construction on a big plastic storage building at the bottom of our street.  It is a reload station where trucks or the train bring loads in and they are then dispersed to other trucks for delivery.   In the process of putting this building up there has been an unbelievably strong odor coming from there.  It is petroleum-based and smells like the black creosote that they used to put on wooden telephone poles. 

For the most part is stays down in the hollow by the reload, but yesterday the wind carried it up to our house.   It was a beautiful sunny day with a warm breeze.  Perfect to have the windows open. Except for the odor that got stronger as the day went on.

By 4:00 or so it was so bad we had to close the windows because it was making us sick.  At a little after 5:00 we had to get out of here.  I was on the phone with my sister-in-law trying to sort out a mom emergency that turned out to be nothing.  I told her that we were heading out because we couldn’t stay here any longer.  She told me we were welcome to go there.  Which of course I know, but wouldn’t. 

When I told her we couldn’t because of the animals she told me they had a fenced in kennel in the back yard that the dog could stay in.  An outside kennel in a strange house for my baby?  I think not.  If she didn’t try chewing through the fencing she would be digging under it.

I realize people do put their dogs outside.  I have had outside dogs too.  Those that didn’t want to be inside and would scratch the doors to pieces to get back out.  Casey Jean is not one of those dogs.  She lives inside, has a doggie bed in the dining room, a padded crate in my office, a futon in the tv room, and sleeps on the bed with us.  An outside kennel?  I think not. 

It’s a good thing Casey did not hear that suggestion.  It would be hard to tell which one of us would be more insulted.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in Pets and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

