Pet Sitting Has Been Hazardous This Week

Let me begin by saying I was not even going to do any sitting this summer.  The plan was to get stuff done around the house and have a little vacation time.  BUT when people called to ask if I would take their dog out or feed the cat how could I say no?  I know these animals; of course I said yes.

This week it’s a cute little dog.  She jumps and spins in circles when it’s supper time.  After her morning walk she is allowed a treat if she jumps and shows you, with her paw, which cabinet her treats are in.  At night she runs in from her walk and plants herself on her bed waiting patiently for her doggie ice cream.  How could I refuse that?

This week has been a bit over the top though.  The cat can go out during the day, but due to the coyotes she has to come in at night.  This does not make her happy. One night she tried to escape while the dog and I came in the door.  I had told the dog not to let her out.  I didn’t think she understood, but she stopped short blocking the way.  I didn’t expect it and fell over her while trying not to land on the cat. All while keeping the cat from running out.  What I did hit was my big fat upper thigh against the door jamb.  I now have a bruise the size of a softball and it is swollen on top of being fat.  The next night as we headed down from the deck an idiot was walking by making noises to call her.  She bolted and reached the end of the leash just as she reached the last step.  It jerked to a halt, she flipped, I held on which pulled my shoulder out.  She got up just fine.  I couldn’t move my arm all morning.

Tonight as we were walking back to the house I heard twigs snapping and leaves rustling in the woods.  At first I thought it might be the human that lived in the next house, but the house was dark except for the outside light.  Meaning no humans home.  That could only mean non human.  I knew it could not be a cat, big or small.  I never would have heard them.  I scanned and scanned looking for any shape that didn’t look right, any noise, any movement.  I heard more rustling but couldn’t see anything.  That was too scary.   I made all kinds of noise hoping to scare it away; what ever it was.  We had to walk right by and I was afraid a coyote or a bear was going to appear.  I cut that leash short and we booked it back to the house with me looking over my shoulder.  I don’t know what it was, but it was big enough to make some serious noise.  Luckily it must have been more afraid of us then we were of it.   

There are only a couple more days until the parents come home.  It has been a long week and it has been a trying week, but I will hate to say bye to the sweetest border/jack around.   Good thing I have next week to recuperate before climbing back in the bus.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in Pets and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

