Waging the Weight Loss Battle

Well my love of junk food has finally caught up with me.  I’m not as young as I used to be, I’m not chasing little kids around, and I still love to eat like I was 20.  It now shows.   What doesn’t show is the almost 4 lbs I lost this week.  Very scary. 

To put things into a little perspective, I weighed in at a whopping 118 lbs when I graduated high school.  Gained weight with each pregnancy but managed to get most of the baby weight off afterward.  Of course I was chasing more and more kids around and I was still in my twenties.

Once thirty hit I started falling apart and put on a few pounds. At forty I was disintegrating fast. I hurt everywhere and climbing up and down to our second floor apartment was the most excercise I got. I put on more weight; however it did come off when my son and I joined Weight Watchers.  In fact I am a lifetime member.  For all the good it does me now.  My goal weight now is more than what my starting weight was then.   How sad is that? 

I’m fast approaching the big 50; my cholesterol is up, my weight is up, my activity level is down and I need to take care of it before the Dr pushes meds on me.  I won’t do the cholesterol meds unless all other options fail.  I have become very attached to my liver.

My battle of the bulge(s) started last week.  Measuring my cereal, doing nothing but eating when I sit down to eat, and trying to choose healthy alternatives over what I really want.  A lot of my strategy is going to be mind over matter.  It has worked for the first week, I am down over three lbs.  Next week’s update will tell if my willpower can overcome the junk food I love.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in This and That and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Waging the Weight Loss Battle

  1. Ozarkhomesteader says:

    I recently went on a 19-day Grand Canyon raft trip, all powered by ourselves (no guides, no motors). Thanks to junk food, despite all the hiking and rowing, I gained weight. I’m so happy to be home and away from Pringles, etc. I try to offer inspiration for eating real food over on my humble little homesteading blog. Feel free to come on over! I’m fighting the battle of the bulge too.
    http://ozarkhomesteader.wordpress.com/

    • ramblinann says:

      Junk food on any kind of road trip is so good. My husband and I love day trips just to get out of the house and drive. Here in New England there are so many places to drive to just for the scenery. The bad side is it is much easier to reach into a potato chip bag then peel and eat an orange while your riding along. The rafting trip sounds like fun. At least you were involved in physical activity to help offset some of the Pringles.

      • Ozarkhomesteader says:

        I kept joking that I was working off my cookies when I offered to carry something heavy, but the fit of my shorts made it sooo clear that I was not.

  2. victoriasjourney says:

    Wow. You were 118lbs in high school? I wish I was that lucky! I don’t think I’ve been that weight since 3rd grade. This really is a battle. I’m only 26 and definitely notice a difference in my metabolism since I was 20. You can do it!

    • ramblinann says:

      Thank you Victoria for the vote of confidence. I could never go back to 118 lbs nor would I want to. I want to be a comfortable healthy weight for my age and frame. Somewhere between 130 and 135 would work for me. I can’t believe I put that in writing but there it is. Victoria your body continously changes as you grow and age. Metabolism does slow down but making a conscious decision to keep going and be healthy will help. Stay active both physically and mentally. Enjoy life, but everything in moderation.

      • Ozarkhomesteader says:

        I think using weights really helps maintain your metabolism. At least that’s what the researchers tell us, that we don’t have to lose muscle mass as we age, but that we have to work harder to maintain it. I’d rather lift a few light weights, though, than have to give up dessert for the rest of my life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

