My First Pumpkins

For  the last six years I have dreamed of having a garden, a vegetable garden like we had at our old house.  We grew the standard tomatoes, peppers, and squash, but we also tried our hand at watermelon, strawberries, and cantaloupe.  It was a lot of work but so worth the effort when the cantaloupe plants produced the best fruit I’ve ever tasted. 

Our yard in Barre does not have the best soil.  I think when they put the house here they just laid out some cheap dirt, and threw some grass seed on top.   Trying to get anything to grow has been a challenge to say the least.

This spring I picked up a package of sugar pumpkin seeds.  They’re fun to grow and healthy to eat.  I followed the planting directions and checked on the hills every day.  Waiting like a little kid for a plant to pop up.  They did; surprisingly pumpkin plants sprouted all around.  It was all I thought I would plant and I was happy. Then I saw someone elses garden and jealousy set in.   

My next trip to the store I came home with a cherry tomato plant and a catnip plant.   Not much but a start.  The rest I blame on my daughter and my husband.  Beth and I went shopping for a fence for her garden and Jim started talking about how much we both used to love the garden.  How good it was to have fresh veggies and how we could have a nice garden here with some work. 

The garden was on.  Not a big one this year, but tomatoes, cukes, green beans, and some garlic chives. It’s late in the season so planting squash was not an option this time around but next year.   We worked all 4th of July weekend digging, fertilizing, and adding new organic soil.  It’s a tiny patch in the front yard that has life to it now.  

I am so happy with all our hard work I took some pictures.  That sounds silly but it looks great out there and I have PUMPKINS.  I took pictures of my very first PUMPKINS. 

 

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in This and That and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

