I’m Bored

It’s the two words that parents hate hearing during summer vacation. “Go outside, play a game, read a book, just find something to do”  Those are some standard responses. If you have used others please feel free to add them to the comment area for other parents to have in their repertoire.

We were never bored when we were young.  We ran crazy all over the neighborhood; played hide and seek, kickball, or just sat and did nothing. The last thing we wanted to say was we were bored or we would surely have SOMETHING to do.  Besides we complained the whole school year that we couldn’t wait until summer vacation.  It would be a blast.   We would never admit we were wrong.

Flash ahead 20, 30, OK OK 40 years and here I sit the second full day of summer vacation and I hate to admit it but I’m Bored.  Yesterday I did some yard work, and other small household chores.  Today I vacuumed and dusted, even those spots that usually just get a brush over got totally dusted.  The shadow box that Beth made got its contents removed and all the little cubbies got cleaned out.  The bottles were all removed from the top of my hutch and everything was cleaned.  I went for a walk with the girls, ate lunch, did dishes, read, and still it is only 4:00 p.m.  What am I going to do for the rest of the summer? 

Cleaning and Business; I’ll concentrate on those things for a couple of hours during the day.  Cleaning I can do early in the morning before it gets warm. Business from outside on the deck so I don’t feel like I am missing out on the beautiful summer days that I love.   Write some, talk to people, and do some trainings. Sounds like a plan.  I’ll do that.  Then I will only be bored for a few hours a day and not all day.

Then of course there is always the beach.

About ramblinann

I live in Massachusetts and always have. I sell healthy holistic pet food as an independant rep with Life's Abundance. That is done mostly from home on my computer. When I'm not working for myself with the pet food, I am sitting behind the wheel of a big yellow school bus.
This entry was posted in This and That and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

